The next election will see fewer MPs in Toronto and northern Ontario and more in the Okanagan and suburban Alberta. Historic changes under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act take effect April 22, 2024, according to a legal notice.

“One of our election readiness activities this year relates to electoral boundaries redistribution,” Chief Electoral Officer Stéphane Perrault earlier testified at the House affairs committee. Any election after April 22 “would take place under the new map,” he said.

Redistribution aimed at roughly balancing seats to population growth will see 343 seats in the Commons, a record. Ridings are divvied up with 122 in Ontario, 78 in Québec, 43 in British Columbia, 37 in Alberta, 14 in Saskatchewan, 14 in Manitoba, 11 in Nova Scotia, 10 in New Brunswick, seven in Newfoundland and Labrador, four in Prince Edward Island and one each in Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Posted in


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.